Ambiguity

Prompt: I wish I had the guts to walk away and forget about what we had. But, I can’t because I know you won’t come after me.

And I guess that’s what hurts the most. 

A crumbling mind, a crumbling heart, a crumbling body
Happiness became synonymous to you
but so did anxiety and dependence

You see, this here is what I have been dreading
I saw it coming yet I didn’t dodge
–– I wouldn’t
–– I couldn’t

Now every inch of me is shaking
collapsing
disintegrating into tiny bits

I said I wasn’t afraid to hurt
I said you couldn’t break what’s already broken
I didn’t think there were more to destroy,
More things to leave barren

So here I am dissolving
shattering
fragmenting into pieces

The you that had become happiness
had morphed into grief and melancholy

Braver and better, happier than ever
the day you happened made me fragile like I was never

A crumbling mind, a crumbling heart, a crumbling body
Anxiety and dependence became synonymous to you
but so did happiness

Leave a Reply

